2019 Heart of the School Awards Winners and Honorees

Click the names of our Winners and Honorees to see why these outstanding leaders are the Hearts of their Schools


Patricia Burrell

North Bend Elementary/Middle School

Francesca Gamber

Bard Early College High School

Charles Kramer

Patterson Park Public Charter School

Zulema Sockwell Moore

William S. Baer School

Danielle Tillman-Cromartie

Harford Heights Elementary School


Corey Basmajian

Francis Scott Key Elementary/Middle School

Mark Gaither

Wolfe Street Academy

Diya Hafiz-Slayton

Brehms Lane Public Charter School

Cathy Miles

Abbottston Elementary School

Jael Samuel

Tench Tilghman Elementary/Middle School

Any questions can be sent to Kevin Leary at kevinl@ffee.org                       © 2020 by FFEE.org.

The Heart of the Schools is a year-round program that celebrates and supports Baltimore City Public School principals for their exemplary innovation, execution, and leadership, building strong school cultures. Coordinated by the Fund for Educational Excellence, the program is a collaborative of dozens of businesses, foundations, individuals and nonprofits.